An Easier Way to Keep Track of your Todoist Notifications

Gone are the days when we had to shout across our desks to find out what our teammates were up to… for the most part. But the endless digital notifications we now get can be equally distracting, not to mention completely overwhelming.

That’s why we’ve revamped the way notifications work in Todoist to make it 100x easier to keep track of what’s going on in shared projects.

In the dark ages (a.k.a. before last week), new notifications in Todoist were marked as read as soon as you opened up the notifications drawer. That was OK if you were getting one or two notifications at a time. Not so good when you needed to follow up on dozens of new notifications. It was super easy to miss an important comment or task update.

Now, individual notifications will be marked as read only when you’ve actually seen what the notification is notifying you about – a not-so-subtle, very important distinction.

Todoist notifications update

There’s a small circle next to each notification that indicates whether you’ve read it or not. Now you can open up the notification drawer and check on each new item one at a time – click the circle to manually mark a notification as read or click through to see the relevant task, project, or comment.

If you want to mark all your notifications as read in one go, just click Mark all as Read in the top-right corner of the notifications drawer. (In the iOS and Android apps, it’s the checkmark icon in the top-right.)

What’s more, you can mark an old notification as unread by clicking on the circle. A great way to flag important updates for follow-up later.

And that’s it. It’s the latest small step in our quest to make collaboration in Todoist easier while keeping things clean and simple.

– The Todoist Team

P.S. Haven’t tried collaborating in Todoist yet? Try it out with a spouse or coworker. Here’s how.

Want to organize your tasks with the best task management app and online to-do list? Todoist can help you on 10+ platforms! Get Started - It’s Free or Learn More.